Beloved

Beloved - a blog about hearing from God. VeryValerie | Luke 12:7 Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

Hearing aidI want to hear from God. “God, please reveal yourself to me.” Where is He? Why can’t I hear him?

Those are lines from journal posts- lines that reveal a desire to hear from a God that I could sense, but try as I might… I could not hear.  Do you ever feel this way?  So I worked up my nerve and asked God… “What’s up with that?”   The answer I got back was an answer I’m familiar with… WRONG QUESTION.  It isn’t that God wasn’t speaking – it was that I wasn’t listening.  Time to adjust the hearing aid.

Silence is golden.  I firmly believe this, because inherent to silence is clarity.  I know this from experience- I’m sure if you are honest with yourself – you do as well.
This is the thing: We are surrounded with noise!  Our thoughts are cluttered with the static that clouds the truth God is longing to impart to you.
It’s going to take some time in order to clear that static- you’ll have to carve out space – resist the urge to plan something- learn to say ‘No’- Take. some. time. away.

Gosh it’s nice out here in left field: 
It isn’t immediate.  Our brains are so cluttered with all the noise that the first breath of fresh quiet that comes in- is likely going to get filled by a rush of thoughts.  Sometimes I would get tickled at myself at how many random pondering thoughts came flooding in whenever I gave them space.  Trust me, it is going to take some time.  We have to learn how to hear.  

I’m sure you’ve heard that there is a difference between hearing and listening– and it is true.  We can hear something without actively listening and processing it. “In one ear and out the other…”
At the same time- when there is a constant stream of noise from the  moment we wake up until we go back to sleep we learn how to tune out the noise.  If you are like me, you tune it all out, but keep this little part of you that listens to all of it at the same time.  When a favorite song comes on,  someone says a key word,  or any number of triggers happen in that noise around you- all of a sudden you become quite aware of it all.  THAT little part of you, the part that stays on… THAT is what you have to claim back.

Tonight bring home your calendar & whiteOut… clear off some space.  Leave the iPod at work.  Mornings work better for me- so I like to get a good nights sleep so that I feel rested and excited to get up and meet with the Lord.  If nights work better for you- do that!  Clear out some time and allow yourself to hear from God.  Let Him tell you what He whispered to me… You are treasured, loved, and valued. You were hand made for a purpose & I (God) long to reveal that to you. You are my beloved.

“Lord, teach me to listen. The times are noisy and my ears are weary with the thousand raucous sounds which continuously assault them. Give me the spirit of the boy Samuel when he said to Thee, “Speak, for thy servant heareth.” Let me hear Thee speaking in my heart. Let me get used to the sound of Thy Voice, that its tones may be familiar when the sounds of earth die away and the only sound will be the music of Thy speaking Voice. Amen.” – A.W. Tozer

Posted in God

Leave a Reply

