Winter Homeless Bags “blessing bags”

Working in downtown Atlanta often means passing by homeless individuals on my way into work. I’ve kept items like free Chick-Fil-A sandwich cards in my car before to give away, but now I put together these Blessing Bags to keep in the car and give away.

Build your blessing bags with anything you think would bless someone in your area. I start with a gallon size Ziploc bag (the bag prevents leaking and keeps everything together.)

Suggested items:
Band-Aids
A Bottle of Water
Hand-Warmers, gloves & hat (in the winter)
Baby Wipes – a pack of baby wipes are helpful for cleaning.
Wash Cloth – buy an inexpensive wash cloth to include

Personal Items:
New Socks – one of the most requested items by homeless
Underwear
Non-Perishable Foods: Granola or Energy Bars, Tuna/cracker packs, Raisins, Nuts, Gum, fruit

Toiletries: Travel-size toiletries work well
Toothbrush & Toothpaste
Comb
Chapstick
Shampoo (travel size)
Floss
Personal hygiene items (tampons, etc)
Sunscreen (spring & summer kits)
Soap

I do not always include every item in every bag. I put as many items as I have when packing the bags, so that I can always have one in the car. Often the soaps, toothbrushes, lotion and shampoo will be travel sized or from a hotel. [I do try to always include socks, because they are so requested by homeless individuals that I’ve met over the years.]

The goal, for me, is to give something that will help the person feel fresh and cared for when they’ve used the items.

Please PIN one of these photos to your pinterest, so we can encourage more people to pack a BLESSING BAG! Blessing bags4

Blessing bags3

Leave a Reply

